Thursday, December 11, 2008

Updates:

My house is now on the market. We have not recieved an offer on it yet. We are currently living with my mother in law. Things are going okay, but could always be better. Our arrangements are about as good as Harry Potters, but we make do.
Our other house is underway. Of course it doesn't seem to be moving along as quickly as I'd like it to be. We are waiting on the plumbing to be finished, for the finishwork to be finished, the tile work in the bathroom(s) and in the kitchen. I think it looks amazing though! I can hardly wait until I am able to host a party there! I will be posting pictures as soon as I am able! It has been dificut to post any pictures because I do not have the cable that connects from my computer to my camera. It is packed up.
I am now officially finished with school! Yay! I passed all my classes except my math class with a 4.0. My math class I ended up with a 79% I took the final and left crying! It was the most horrible day I think I've had in a long, long time! No excuses! I should have studied harder. I tried to study, but wasn't able to find the time with the kids, and Lane standing around my feet all day asking for food, or water.
I have officially Graduated from the Jr. college!

Saturday, November 29, 2008

What I'm thankful for

Dear Family and Friends, Happy Thanksgiving!
I wanted to take a few minutes out to just tell everyone what I am most thankful for this year. I am so very thankful for my husband. He is my best friend. The one person who I can share my real joys and sorrows with. He is always there to hold my hand and heart as we dance through this life. Cheesy as it may be, Lane helps make each day better by just being apart of it! Most of you know that we are now a family of 5, the twins are growing and changing everyday! I can't say enough how thankful I am for my 3 girls. Sometimes they make me laugh, and sometimes they make me cry but I am so thankful for them! I used to think I couldn't imagine a day without Lilly. I couldn't remember what life was like before lillyanna came into our lives. I can honestly say now that I definatly remember what life before the twins. It was much quieter!!! I am thankful for the job that my husband has. I am thankful for the house that we are now selling. It was a wonderful home. 2 good years were spent there. I am thankful for the neighbors, the friends that we made in that home. Specifically I am thankful for my neighbor Jen. She had a cup of sugar and hug ready at all times. I will miss her very much! I am thankful for the new home that my dad is building for us! What a huge blessing! Who gets the oppertunity to live out in the country just minutes from thier family at our age? not many I'm sure. So Thank you so much Dad and Becky for your generosity and love. We appreciate all that you have done and are doing for us. I know that it will provide us with many many happy years! Thank you.I am thankful for Lanes mom for taking us in while we are trying to sell our house. I know that things aren't easy, and 6 kids is more than she bargined for at one time. But we appreciate that we can stay here for a little while between the move. I know we will both be rejoicing the day our house is finished!!! Me because I'll get my own room again, and her because it will be quiet at 2 am again! I am also thankful for my very large, very wonderful family! I Loved spending thanksgiving afternoon playing games and talking with the family... Words cannot really express the joy that I feel when I am around all of you! Thank you for being a great family to be apart of! May this next year be filled with joy and happiness!
With a cup full and running over,
Thank you Lord for a wonderful year!
Rose

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Diaper Trouble

Have I ever told you that I hate potty training? My little Katie keeps on taking her diaper off everytime that she needs to go to the bathroom. If i don't catch her in time it is usually on my floor. Lately I've been making her wear overalls to keep her pants up and her diaper untouchable... she has now found out that she can just get around that by putting her hands into her overalls and pulling her diaper just right. She is able to undiaper herself without me even knowing now. I cought her twice today with no diaper on... What is wrong with my child???? If i make her wear panties, she just pees in them, and rips them off. If i make her go naked... she finds any place she wants to go and goes there. If i keep her in a diaper, she takes her pants off and then her diaper off and then proceeds to go pee where ever she wants to go. Not to mention just today alone i have cleaned up poop twice. once in the morning, before she even came out of her room, and once this evening after she ate dinner, she was crying at the bottom of the stairs. I went up to change the laundry, and heard her crying, so i called her. "katie, come here" and she came, and as she was coming up the stairs poop was falling out of her overalls ... it was all over her foot and legs. I am so grossed out i do not know what to do. I threw her in the tub and washed her body off. Why don't we come out knowing how to pee and poop in a toilet??
I am not ready to potty train. We are moving soon, I am not ready. I tried to potty train lilly before we moved from hawaii, and it was a bad idea. She didn't do well, she understood the concept but things were not easy, and definatly not settled. I just want her to keep her freaking diaper on.
Oh and I should mention, when she takes her diaper off, there is nothing in it. It is clean.. she takes it off so that she won't get it wet i guess?? Maybe I should let her wear panties for a day or two and see if i can spot when she is going to go? Any ideas??

Tuesday, October 7, 2008

Just a Quick note before I start working on my homework for the day, I have lost 21 lbs now!!!

Tuesday, September 30, 2008

My ramble to anyone who wants to read... only my sis will read it!

It is now 11:08 and for the first time today I am sitting on my butt doing what I want to do. I am blogging! I don't have much to say except that I am too tired to read and get anything out of what I am reading but not tired enough to be sleeping. My head is hurting, and my thoat isn't feeling the best. My nose is running, thanks to my kids who started the runny nose phenomenon in our house about 2 days ago. I know that I will fall asleep and in a matter of a few house about 7 to be exact my kids will all be waking up and somehow finding thier way into my bed. Although they mean good, I would prefer if they would just be quiet! I do not like getting woken up at 6 am by little girls whining because they aren't able to climb up onto my tall bed all by themselves. After I help them up, they whine because they aren't able to all snuggle up next to me. Too bad I don't have three sides... Actually too bad I don't have tape to put over thier mouths while they are fighting over who is going to lay on my right side or not.
Maybe I am tired? I'm a little crabby it would seem from what I just wrote!
I do have this positive thing to say, in four weeks I have lost 18 lbs. Yay! I was in a downward spiral... put some weight back on. I am being alot more active, and trying not to eat late. It helped me right quick! I am glad to see those 100's again!
School is a lot of work. I spend the most of two days... two days! reading for one class. I am a little freaked out. I have a lot of other work that I could be doing. I am trying to get all the weeks long homwork done in 3 days. that way I am free mostly on thrusdays and fridays for vball and lane and he kids. Its not easy! But is only the 2nd week. i'm sure I will get the hang of it! 18 credits isn't much easier than 20... But I got a 4.0 last quarter, so 4.0 here I come!
Ok, That was a ramble.
Goodnight
Ps thanks for reading this Terri.

Friday, September 19, 2008

A new day

School begins in a matter of days. I've spent 2 days preparing for it to come. One day I went got my schedule worked out and the next i bought my books and all the things that I needed for my class. I spend about 275.00. That is better than last yeah, but it still was expensive. I think last quarter i spend over 400.00 on books. Luckily I get enough financial aid to pay for class and books with almost nothing left over.
The classes that I will be starting are Math in Society.. (blah!!!) Now I''m wishing I would have signed up for calculous. It may not have come super easy for me... but I would have been more interested in thinking about stuff that is hard, rather than story problems! I've heard that the calculous program is really hard and it would have taken a lot of time. I could have done it! I'm sure of it.... Lane kinda steered me away from it when he was saying how difficult it would have been. I will be taking Phycology 200. All i know is that I loved phsyc 100 when I was a freshman. I loved it! So I'm thinking this will be pretty fun. ( I hope!) I am taking a Geology course... Rocks!!! YEah. I hope when i am finished with it i'll be able to say it ROCKS!!! (lol) And the last class that I am taking is a PE course where you have to excersize for a certian amount of hours a quarter... When you get to that amount you get and A... If your short you don't get and A... It's pretty straight forward.
I like school. I always have. It doesn't come easy to me so I have to try pretty hard to grasp details and learn more difficult subject... I am looking forward to using my new books, even tho they are probably really boring! Anyways just wanted you all to know that the life of Rose is going to get pretty busy again. But when this quarter is over... I will be graduated!!! yay!!! I am so excited!

Monday, September 15, 2008

conversation with a kindergartener

Dedicated to all mom's everywhere.
This is a typical mom's story!
Thank heavens for Aunties!

(Ring...Ring...Ring...)
kindergartener: Hello!
Me: Hi! Is this Brenna? (not sure that i dialed the right number)
Kindergartener: Yeah! Who is this???
Me: This is auntie
Kindergartener: This is auntie??? Auntie???
Me: Whatcha doin?
Kindergartener: Um... Did you know that i got my fish with no water and it didn't die?
Me: Really?? Are you washing the tank?
Kindergartener: no, just put him in a cup with a little water. But he fell out.
Me: oh... Do you like school?
Kindergartener: yes.
Me: what is your teachers name?
Kindergartener: mrs. (couldn't hear it right,) and mrs (didn't understand)
Me: oh. are they nice to you?
Kindergartener: yes.
Me: which one is your favorite?
Kindergartener: I like them both
Me: well that is good. Do you like kids in your class?
Kindergartener: yes
Me: are they nice to you?
Kindergartener: yes
Me: good! Are you learning a lot in your class?
Kindergartener: yes, we are learing 1000 things.
Me: that is a lot! Are you learning your to read?
Kindergartener: yes
Me: are you learning how to write your name?
Kindergartener: I already know my name! its BRENNA... I never forget the E
Me: wow that is a great job... you must be pretty smart to know how to spell your name!
Kindergartener: yeah... ok love you bye...
(dialtone..........)

Call 2:
(ring ring ring ring)
Kindergartener: Hello!
Me: Can I talk to you mommy?
Kindergartener: um no
Me: I want to talk to your momma please.
Kindergartener: She is downstairs. I dont want her to answer the phone because she will be mad at me when she sees that the fish is dead.
Me: (putting the previous story straight!) oOOH... Your fish isn't in water???
Kindergartener: No.
Me: Where is he now?
Kindegartener: On the floor.
Me: Brenna, If you pick up the fish and put him back in his tank he probably won't die. You should probably pick him up and put him back.
Kindergartner: oh
Me: are you doing it yet?
Kindergartener: well... uh.. can you just hold...
QUIET....
...
...
...
Kindergartener: hello?
Me:hi, did you save your fishes life?
Kindergartener: wow that was close!
Me: can i talk to you mom now?
Kindergarten: yeah, ok

(mom didn't want to talk to me cause she was sleeping. Little did she know I just saved her fishes life! I love you Brenna! Your the best neice!)

Kindergartner: She doesn't want to talk to you now!
Me: ok. is she sleeping?
Kindergartener: yeah she likes to sleep all day from morning to evenening...from morning to evening. She works a lot.
Me: ok, well tell her that i love her and will talk to her later.
Kindergartener: no, she's sleeping!
Me: ok.
Kindergartener: love you bye...
Me: ..... (click!)

(She hung up on me again!! )

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Do you ever hide from you kids?
I am locked right now in my extra bedroom writing this while my kids are finishing updinner and watching a movie! Oh how quiet! Oh how wonderful.
Some of you might be wonding how my maria is doing. She is good. Works well. I wish she'd work when i wasn't here... get the dishes from the sink all on her own... but maybe that is too much to ask... you know how it is with those maria types...don't know how do something unless you stand right over them and do it yourself... and even then they don't catch on!
Well i'm just rambling!
I had a really filling dinner tonight! It was quite tasty... we had chicken alfrado and breadsticks...with double chocolate melted frosting chocolate cake! It was delicious! I'm glad i ate! I am very full tho.
I'm onto the thrird Harry potter book. I think this one might be my favorite so far! I have really enjoyed reading them! Although i have been a little tired because i've been staying up late reading! Oh well. Its been fun
School starts for me in about a week and a half! I'm looking forward to doing some good work! Reading some boring books and getting ready to sell my house! We were suppose to be painting this weekend but it is changed to next! It should workout pretty well. I can't wait to see what it looks like with all the paint in there! So exciting. I chose my countertops... It called "santos cecelia" granite... I can't afford the slab so i'm puting in granite tiles instead... saves about 3000 dollars! You still get the look without the cost! Maybe someday i'll upgrade... but probably not! I picked out the carpet and the wood floors! Gosh my house is going to be so pretty! I can't wait!
Ok i don't have much to say... so goodbye

Monday, September 8, 2008

I've finished the first of the Harry Potter series! I enjoyed it very much. I am already deep into the second book. It seems kind of ironic that this weekend at church, ( i didn't stay for church, but was told by someone about the service) the pastor was talking about the harry potter books and thier possible link to evil that is brewing on our plannet. He made some refrences to the wand that Harry carried with him, made from "Holly wood" and a few other things. I guess there could be a coorilation between harry's wand an hollywood the place and how evil it is? I wasn't there so i can't really say much more than I thought it was funny when I was sitting out in the truck reading harry potter and Lane's mom thought we were fighting, and when we sat down to each lunch i enquired about the sermon. Lane and I chuckled to ourselves.
The weekends seem to go by so fast, I took more pictures of our new house and all the work that has been done on it! I can' hardly wait till we get to move! It should be soon! well soon meaning a couple of months!

Thursday, September 4, 2008

missed opportunity

Have you ever stood in a grocery store behind some one who wasn't able to afford the normal foods that you had sitting in your own cart? Tonight Lane and I decided to go to the grocery store and get some cereal from the sale. Yeah cereal!!! As we were standing in the line to check out I couldn't help but feel this tug on my heart to buy the woman the tylenol that she needed for her baby. The lady had also put back a gallon of milk and a couple of other odds and ends. I wanted so bad to just ask her it would be ok to buy it for her. For some reason I coked up and I didn't say a word. I didn't want to offend her... or make her feel stupid. I didn't what to seem better than her or make her feel funny at all. I didn't know what to say. But before I got the courage up she was gone. I missed my opportunity. What would you have done? Shame of me for not doing the right thing. I should have just asked. You never know what she's going through.
Maria, Maria! I am so thankful for you! If you didn't know before my diswasher broke down about 4 months ago. I was so very sad! I have been hand washing all my dishes. Some may say that I am spoiled, I think I just hate to do the dishes!
We waited four long months be able to afford our maid. The real story behind maria is kinda funnny.
I arranged for our realter to show up on a friday afternoon. My goal was to have the house as clean as I could get it because he was planning on telling me what the house should be put on the market for. I thought that I would be able to get it all done. The dishes of course where the first thing that should have been done, but I hate dishes. In fact I'm pretty sure that I despise them. I decided in all my wit to wait until the hubby was home to conquer and defeat the dishes. At least that way I'd have someone on my side while I fought with them.
Time passes and things were getting done in what seemed to be a snails pace. I was working hard and things were hardly getting done. 4pm was suppose to be the deadline. The key time to finish. I was way wrong. I was not able to finish even close to what i had set out to do and one of the key room in the house was a disaster. What was a poor girl to do? I got this idea....
"well lane we could take the dishes and put them into a bin and put them into the garrage." Well that sure beat having to wash them... and not being able to finish in time for mr realtor to come. So like good husbands to he listened to his wife and packed all the dishes up into plastic bins normally for camping, and set them out into the garrage.
That was last friday... It is now wednesday, and the dishes are still there. I've been puntin it off because maria, my new dishwasher has arrived. I still have to get her installed, and then she can be the dish maid for me. I am planning on spending a few hours with her tonight after the kids go to bed. Oh lucky me!

Wednesday, September 3, 2008

The newest member of our family

She just arrived yesterday! We named her Maria! I know I've been hiding the information from many but I am very excited to let everyone know that the newest member of our family has finally arrived. We'd been planning on having her for a while now, but these last four months have been so very difficult waiting for her!
In the past our expiernece has been that these girls can be so helful when they aren't wet and messy. Our last model was wonderful, but this one promises to exceed the others by far. Perhaps it's because we plannd her, perhaps it's because we need her, Perhaps it's because I am tired of doing it all alone. Of course I have the other kids, so I'm never really alone. I think her arrival will speed life up even more. I am very excited to spend some time her. After all the other kids have gone to bed, I'll have her all to myself. Oh lucky me!

Tuesday, September 2, 2008

Just upcoming events and thoughts

One massive change is going to be happening in my life really soon. As most of my readers know, My family and I are moving out into the country. We have the task of getting the house we live in now ready for sale. I managed to get a hold of the realtor who found this house for us when we bought it and he is planning on helping us sell it. Last week we had him come over and let us know what he thought would be essential for us to do before we put this house up for sale.
My problem isn't so much getting the house up for sale as it when to do all of this. Of course we can't expect to have a quick sale, but i guess it is possible. We are hoping to make a decent profit from our first house to use as a down for our second.
The realtor seemed to think that for our house to sell for the best price possible we should get it all cleaned out except for a few staging items. He thought it would be good to repaint a few of the rooms in our house and of course do the dreaded deep clean to make it show ready. That puts us into a bit of a bind. Where will we live while we are trying to sell our house? I've been trying to talk Lane into speaking with his mom about us living there in the meantime while our house is getting built. Our house is coming down the the wire, we have the painting to do, the flooring to install, the kitchen cabinets and the bathroom fixtures. Of course all the finish work and that should about do it! It will be ready. Time frame is about 2 months I'd say.
October 1 is when our house is supposed to be placed on the market unless we are ready before that date. I think we will be planning on moving our stuff in the next couple of weeks and living with the bare essentials. In the meantime it means lots of cleaning for me.
I am so excited!

Friday, August 29, 2008

Super Mom (enter heroic music here)

Waking up to the garbage truck driving by is always a great way to wake up. I didn't put our trash out last night because when I got out of my car at 9:30 pm I was carrying both the girls, one on each hip. Both of them were crying and ready for sleep. The thought of just going back outside to take the trash to the curb made my head dizzy. I chose to climb into by bed and start reading the first harry potter book instead. I got about 20 pages into it and decided I really was too tired to be reading, especially after remembering that my day was going to be filled with lots of cleaning. Back to the trash truck driving by.
Each friday morning we have 3 garbage trucks that drive by our house... one takes all the green clippings of grass, one takes the recyleables, and the last one take the normal trash. So I have about 14 minutes from the time I hear the first truck to get out of bed and gather up all the trash and take it to the curb, when the nice man who doesn't mind being stinky all day picks up all my kids dirty diappers from the last week. (Thank you truck man) I would hate your job!!!
6:52 am, alarm number one rolls by. Its Green truck. I turn over and deciede that I don't feel like taking the trash out this friday, and yet something inside me says, "you should have done that last night!" As if to defend myself, I say back sarcastically, " It's not like I had my hands full of sleeping babies, and it was dark already, what did you expect?" Obviously I was not getting much sleep with all the fighting going on in my head, so in defeat, i pull the blankets off of me right as the second truck is pulling up our street. Now feeling a little panic, I head for the bathroom, get the trash that is overflowing and realize that some one has broken yet another glass of mine, and thrown it into the trash. But why is it in the bathroom trash? weird! Letting it go for the sake of time, i trudged down the stairs with the trash bin in hand ready for the race that was before me. I still had three other trash cans to empty before number three passed my house. Needless to say I did make it to the street just in time to have mr. stink secure a place for my weeks worth of rubbish.
Shortly after the episode of time vs. truck four little legs come running towards me from the porch. It seeed like a wonderful day to just rest on the litle swing outside my house with both the little ones on my lap. It was quite warm and with the sun beaming down on me. These are the reasons that I get up in the morning, to have little snuggly bodies actually want to spend time with me even though I complain about every little thing I have to do. They actually care about me. Well, they care about themselves perhaps more, but in thier selfish desire to fulfill themselves they need a mom to love them so naturally to get the affection that they need, they in turn are willing to show some type of love back. Children make life so worth it.
I suppose that if I didn't have kids I would be pretty excited to just do all the things that I want whenever I see fit. I'd imagine that I'd enjoy that life for a while too. But what is it all for? Who is it all for? In the end I suppose its all just trival and for not much more than momentary enjoyment. At least at the end of each day I feel a sense of fullfillment, freedom, and contentment that many people envy. I love the family I have.
Its days like today, when the garbage truck wakes me up early, and I get to spend the morning with my twins in the sun on a swing that I realize that life isn't bad at all. It is a moment of quiet bliss and worth all the tears and poopy diapers they can throw at me. I am super mom, recharged.

Thursday, August 28, 2008

Things Always Change

It would seem that my life is usually changing. It could be as simple as a diaper, a shirt, a car, or even a house. Why is it that I am so attracted to change?
Often times I look around noticing that everyone else is trying to keep things the way they are right now. Not looking for the next big thing to happen. Not waiting for the next milestone, and often times seem to be wishing it never would come about because it is comforting to be still. It is comforting for time to slow, perhaps so much so that time itself is suspended for moments.
There must be a balance between the two. A sea saw to speak of that doesn't sway one side or the other too much, otherwise to tip the scale. Change must be kept in balance. Too much at one time would be overwelming to most, and too much of the same old would seem too boring to the rest.
I love change. I love colors to change. I love seasons to change. I love the change of one day to the next. I love to change clothes, hairstyles, and makeup trends. I love change.
Do you think I will ever be content to just live?